Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Triptych: The Music of Eliane Radigue

      photo © Arnold Binas

Date: 12 - 26 June 2011
Venue: Christ Church Spitalfields, St. Stephen's Walbrook, 
Cafe Oto, Rich Mix and Watermans, London
Produced by: Sound and Music

Sound and Music presents the first major UK retrospective of the work of Eliane Radigue, one of the most celebrated and influential of living composers. This London-wide festival stages a curated selection of Radigue’s work including her extraordinary compositions for acoustic instruments, her classic electronic compositions and a unique presentation of her installation works.
Since the 1960s Eliane Radigue (born Paris, 1932) has created a singular, powerful and individual body of work. Strongly influenced by her studies of Tibetan Buddhism, her works since the mid 70s have explored slowly evolving states where musical change is perceived as environmental in scale, constant in evolution and virtually imperceptible in transformation. Often monumental in duration, her music communicates a sublime spiritual power, transporting the listener on a journey into the very heart of sound.  A true original, Radigue has followed an artistic path unfettered through association to any schools and trends. She is now celebrated as a true innovator, pioneer and musical visionary. The audience at Triptych will be truly immersed in sound in venues chosen in consultation with the artist for their resonant beauty and rich acoustics.

Christ Church Spitalfields – performances as part of Spitalfields Music's Summer Festival of Radigue’s celebrated collaborations with performers including the first UK performance of the monumental Naldjorlak trilogy and the world premiere of Occam 1 for solo harp, a work completed this year on her 79th birthday.

St. Stephens Walbrook – eight concerts of classic electronic works in one of London’s most beautiful acoustics. This concert series will including the epic Trilogie De Le Mort, a spiritual acoustic journey reflecting on the transcendence of death, and a special concert of Radigue's early and very rarely heard feedback works.
Triptych also features a free public presentation of Radigue’s rarely heard installation works on a series of Sonic Beds designed by sound artist and Radigue collaborator Kaffe Matthews. These instruments have been designed for the audience to lie in and feel sound move up, down and around their bodies in ever changing patterns of vibration.
Works in the Triptych season are performed by leading international musicians who have become key collaborators with Eliane Radigue, including Charles Curtis, Carol Robinson, Bruno Martinez, Kasper Toeplitz, Rhodri Davies and The Lappetites.

for event information and booking, go to sound and music website

Friday, 6 May 2011

Aki Onda Cassette Memories Cour Carrée du Louvre 14/5/2011 Nuit des Musées

Aki Onda
Cassette Memories

Birdcage sound gallery
Cour Carrée du Louvre
May 14. 8PM – 10PM.
Nuit des Musées (Museum Night).

Curated by : Daniele Balit

Visitors can come and leave anytime as they wish. The admission is free.

Aki Onda is an electronic musician, composer, and visual artist. Onda was born in Japan and currently resides in New York. He is particularly known for his Cassette Memories project – works compiled from a “sound diary” of field-recordings collected by Onda over a span of two decades. Onda’s musical instrument of choice is the cassette Walkman. Not only does he capture field recordings with the Walkman, he also physically manipulates multiple Walkmans with electronics in his performances.
Cassette Memories is a music performance, or a ritual, that Onda conjures up the general essence of memory by playing his field recordings, so to speak his personal memories, at a location which has its own memories. It’s invisible, but you would feel that live memories awake sleeping memories.

Birdcage is a sonic gallery initiated by Daniele Balit as an itinerant and temporary display to host artistic initiatives. Previous appearances include : Stockholm with Carl Michael von Hausswolff, Amsterdam with dj sniff, and Beijing with Yan Jun.

For more information and press inquiries, please contact: birdcagespace@gmail.com

Birdcage gracefully acknowledges support for the production of this project from the Dena Foundation for Contemporary Art.
And the kind collaboration of the Louvre Museum.

A special thanks goes to the Louvre Contemporary Art Program, chief curator Marie-Laure Bernadac and Pauline Guelaud.
And to : Eric Cordier, Licia Demuro, Silvia Ferro, Satoko Fujimoto, Mathias Geoffroy, Daniel Hosner, Hannah Huesberg, Marie Lelouche, Anthony Morabito. Eric Perier, Vincent Voillat.

Urls :

Nuit des Musées

sound artists